Forever on the Mountain: The Truth Behind One of Mountaineering’s Most Controversial and Mysterious Disasters

Product Features

    (as of 06/21/2018 09:33 UTC - Details)

    Product Description

    Winner of the 2007 Banff Mountain Festival Book Awards Grand Prize (The Phyllis & Don Munday Award): “A riveting account of a long-ago mountaineering disaster.”—Time

    In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded on Alaska’s Mount McKinley in a vicious arctic storm. All seven perished on what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history. Revisiting the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean’s Young Men and Fire, James M. Tabor uncovers elements of controversy, finger-pointing, and cover-up that combine to make this disaster unlike any other.



    Customer Reviews

    You May Also Like

    About the Author: charlesmiske

    %d bloggers like this: